Blueprint MCAT Formerly Next Step
Return to Blog Homepage

PCAT Biological Processes – Adaptive Immune System Components

Which of the following is not a component of the adaptive immune response?

A. B lymphocytes
B. CD8+ T lymphocytes
C. Immunoglobulins
D. Macrophages

Click for Explanation

D is correct. Adaptive immunity is the branch of the immune response that recognizes and responds to specific pathogens. In contrast, innate immunity provides general, non-pathogen-specific protection. Adaptive immunity includes B lymphocytes, which produce antibodies (also termed immunoglobulins). T lymphocytes (both CD4+ and CD8+) are also a component of the adaptive immune response, but macrophages are part of innate immunity.

Submit a Comment

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.