Logic Games: Scary “But Not Both” Rules
- Sep 10, 2009
- LSAT Advice Videos, Videos
In early 2007, the Law School Admissions Council (LSAC) introduced a type of rule to Logic Games that had legions of test-takers running home to mommy. It was particularly egregious because of the way in which it was introduced. Students initially thought that it was an easy, 1:1 correspondence game. But then everything went horribly wrong with three little words: but not both.
Whereas most students can readily cope with diagramming “A comes before B”, or “C comes before D”, what do you do when the rule states “A comes before B, or B comes before C, but not both”? (Other than cry and reach for a binkie, that is).
Apparently satisfied with the havoc it wreaked by introducing this rule in 2007, LSAC has resuscitated the same rule (or very similar rules) three times over the last two years. This means it’s becoming a favorite, and the LSAC loves to revert back to its favorites. So, our dearest MSS readers, this means you should learn how to deal with it for your own LSAT. Accordingly, we corralled Colin Elzie into getting in front of the camera. It isn’t pretty, but it might just be very useful come test day (and keep you from curling up in the fetal position).
Search the Blog
General LSAT Advice Two Truths About Retaking
General LSAT Advice Understanding Your LSAT Score: The "Curve," Explained
General LSAT Advice How is an LSAT score calculated?
Free LSAT Practice Account
Take a free practice LSAT, get a detailed score report and explanatory videos, and learn your odds of getting into your dream school just by checking out our FREE LSAT resources.Learn More